REVIEWS

YOUR REVIEW IS IMPORTANT TO US

FARMHOUSE: September 2020

I loved the space. The owners of the estate are very friendly and welcoming. The house was beautiful and very well situated with everything that is needed

 

Sara

Portugal

BARN: September 2020

 

It's really a small oasis in the middle of Alentejo. A rural tourism that combines charm with the simplicity of the countryside. Andrea and Andreas, the owners are 5 stars and make us feel at home! Perfect place to spend holiday with friends or rent for events!

Ana Luisa

Portugal

BARN and FARMHOUSE: September 2020

 

When you were in paradise words cannot quite describe what you felt or lived.  Herdade dos Alfanges is truly a paradise. Not only the Herdade itself and the surrounding Alentejo breathtaking light and landscape but Andrea and Andreas, the owners, are the most welcoming and warming hosts you could ever dream of. We hosted our small marriage at the Herdade dos Alfanges because of all the above reasons and it was the best decision we could have ever made. We, our family and friends were marvelled by the amazing conditions and support provided by our hosts and their property.  You can really feel the energy flowing from the elements in that land and it is something we cannot quite describe other than to highly recommend to all that read this review to go there without hesitations. We will surely come back! Once again, to Andrea and Andreas, thank you both from the bottom of our hearts!  

Marco

Portugal

August 2020

 

Outstandingly!!

The guesthouse is absolutely stunning. The property’s owners renovated the barn with a lot of taste and thought for detail. Andreas and Andrea are the kindest hosts ever! They generously invited us for a BBQ the first evening to get to know us and transferred their love for the region by explaining us everything about the land and the art of producing good quality organic olive oil. The spacious house, the terrace, the comfi porch, the beautiful pool and the quiet surroundings allowed us to wind down from our day to day life. We did day trips to the surrounding cities and archeological sites of the region, also the longest beach of the area can be reached within one hour drive. Very handy is that there are 4 restaurants in the next village ;-) This is the perfect place to stay with your family, with friends or even on a course! All double beds can be transformed to single beds, I could therefore imagine to organize a retreat on this magical property... We enjoyed it lots and will be back for sure!!

Nici

Switzerland

FARMHOUSE: August 2020

 

By far the BEST Airbnb I have ever stayed in. Mostly due to the exceptional hosts. They really went the extra mile. We felt at home. Not only were we welcomed with complimentary wet towels upon arrival (which felt incredible given the heat of Alentejo) as there was also a freshly baked peach pie, a basket of vegetables and a wine bottle awaiting us at "home". The kitchen was fully equipped, not a thing was missing (salt, pepper, garlic, laurel leaves, olive oil, coffee etc etc (those basics that more often than not are missing from so many Airbnb's and pose enormous difficulties and constraints))... simply amazing. The common area was like a paradise: an infinity pool, ping pong table, palm trees.. we were lucky enough that the other guest house was vacant so we had the pool all to ourselves. The "splendid oasis" is located in the middle of nowhere, absolute peace. At night you can only hear the crickets and sheep. If you look at the sky you will say the milky way perfectly. Indescribable. I highly recommend it.

Pedro

Porto, Portugal

FARMHOUSE, August 2020

 

A dream come true. Peace, tranquillity, the stars, a spectacular house .... without a doubt, the best way to end your summer holidays as a family!

Alejandro

Madrid

Barn, August 2020

Perfect days in a perfect place, under the supervision of perfect hosts. I do highly recommend this amazing and charming homestead. Like a Swiss watch!

Paulo

Porto, Portugal

Barn, August 2020

 

We had a wonderful time at this real paradise on earth! Beautiful stylish house, spacious rooms in the gorgeous environment of Alentejo! Fully recommend it!

Christina

Belgium

Farmhouse, July 2020

 

The hospitality and amenities were outstanding. Everything is provided and the house is fully equipped to enjoy and relax in the middle of sunny Alentejo. Andrea is a great host and always quick to answer any question. I would recommend this place to stay and for sure want to come back for another stay.
 

Miguel

Lisbon

Farmhouse, June 2020

Beautiful estate, comfortable house, well decorated and well equipped, very good pool area. Very available and friendly host.

 

Raquel

Portugal

Barn, May 2020

 

Wonderful hosts with a wonderful space. We are so happy to have found this spot in Alentejo and will return in the future! Amazing pool!

Ainsley and George

Lisbon

Farmhouse, September 2019

The location was somewhat secluded so it was very quiet, as well as there were some villages nearby. The cottage was fully equipped and the kitchen was equipped with all the necessary materials to prepare a good meal. The swimming pool was large and there were all kinds of accecories The host and hostess were very friendly and helpful. We got some good tips for good local restaurants and wineries.

Thijs

Nederlands

Farmhouse, August 2019

 

“**In the middle of nowhere; on the middle of everything** The place is outstanding, beyond expectations; and everything is placed with care and thought – after a couple of days it's hard to leave the place and visit some of the local places. But when you do leave, it's near to the best of Alentejo has to offer. And about the hosts? Andrea and Andreas, are truly the cherry on top of the cake. Long Story Short… It's pretty much like visiting family that you haven't seen in a long time. For my very first Airbnb, now the expectations are really high. It's going to be hard to find any other place this good.”

 

Vitor

Portugal

August 2019


Wat een prachtige plek, in het hart van Portugal 20 minuten onder de historische stad Evora. We hadden natuurlijk verwachtingen gezien we hadden geboekt via de website, maar de verwachtingen werden ver overtroffen. Na een beetje zoeken hadden we de afslag gevonden. We kwamen op een landweg die ons leide door het prachtige Portugese Landschap, We kwamen aan werden verwelkomd door de eigenaren Andrea en Andreas, we voelde ons direct welkom. Zij brachten ons naar ons verblijf " the Barn " Wauw! Wat prachtig. Na dat we ons hadden opgefrist kregen we een rond leiding over het landgoed. Heerlijk zoutwaterbad met veel ruimte om te zonnen. Avonds werden we uitgenodigd voor de barbecue, wat een top avond, en wat een gewéldige en aardige gastheer en vrouw Andreas en Andrea, Super! Als je praat van een aanradertje dat is dit er absoluut één.

 

Henk

Nederlands

Barn, August 2019


There are not many words to describe this little piece of paradise that Andrea and Andreas share with us. Everything is perfect, beautiful, calm, serene. The house has been designed with excellent taste, and you feel at home as soon as you enter it. The kitchen is a family kitchen where everything is at your disposal to cook as if you were at home. Nothing is missing. The rooms are beautiful, and you can sleep in them wonderfully well. The view from the living room or bedrooms is magnificent. Oaks, olive trees as far as the eye can see and of course the hundreds of sheep that graze. You will have the chance some evenings to see the shepherd and his border collars bring the herd back to the sound of the ship bells. The swimming pool is magnificent, and you can admire the sunsets or rest in the hammocks or deckchairs at your disposal. Andrea also provides you with swimming pool towels with small customisation that has charmed us a lot. But all this would be nothing without the kindness and thoughtful but daily attention of Andreas and Andrea. We have the impression of being with our family, and we feel how much they like to share and welcome. They are there to make your stay the best in the world. Always at your disposal to advise us on places to visit, restaurants, to book, to order some pizzas, to buy excellent local wines. And I don't mention all the exceptional moments we were able to spend together, not to mention Francesca and Sandra, two Italian and German interns with whom we were also able to make friends. Finally, our last ten-year-old son was able to evolve freely and get the fresh eggs from the henhouse in the morning, as well as the vegetables from the garden to allow us to prepare beautiful fresh and 100% organic salads! We had the chance to meet Andrea and Andreas because it's a chance, believe it! We hope to come back one day for the Alentejo, the quietude of the house and the landscapes and especially to be able to spend some beautiful moments with Andrea and Andreas again. Thank you for everything.


Il n'y a pas beaucoup de mots pour décrire ce petit coin de paradis que Andrea et Andreas partagent avec nous. Tout est parfait, beau, calme, serein. La maison a été conçue avec beaucoup de gout et on se sent chez soit des que l'on y rentre. La cuisine est une cuisine familiale où tout est à disposition pour cuisiner comme à la maison. Il ne manque rien. Les chambres sont magnifiques et l'on y dort merveilleusement bien. La vue du salon ou des chambres est grandiose. Des chênes, des oliviers à perte de vue et bien entendu les centaines de moutons qui pâturent. Vous aurez la chance certains soirs de voir le berger et ses border collies ramener le troupeau au son des clarines. La piscine est grandiose et vous pourrez y admirer les couchers de soleil ou bien vous reposer dans les hamacs ou les chaises longues mises à votre disposition. Andrea vous met également des serviettes de piscines à disposition avec une petite personnalisation qui nous a beaucoup charmés. Mais tout ceci ne serait rien sans la gentillesse et les attentions discrètes mais quotidiennes de Andreas et Andrea. Nous avons l'impression d'être en famille et l'on sent combien ils aiment partager et accueillir. Ils sont présents pour que votre séjour se passe le mieux du monde. Toujours à disposition pour nous conseiller des endroits à visiter, des restaurants, pour reserver, pour commander quelques pizzas, pour acheter de bons vins locaux. Et je ne mentionne pas tous les moments très privilégiés que nous avons pu passer ensemble sans oublier Francesca et Sandra, deux stagiaires italienne et allemande avec qui nous avons pu également sympathiser. Enfin, notre petit dernier de 10 ans a pu évoluer librement et aller chercher les oeufs frais dans le poulailler le matin, ainsi que les légumes du jardin pour nous permettre de préparer de belles salades bien fraiches et 100% bio! Nous avons eu la chance de rencontrer Andrea et Andreas, car c'est une chance croyez le! Nous espérons revenir un jour pour retrouver l'Alentejo, la quiétude de la maison et des paysages et surtout pouvoir passer, de nouveau, de beaux moments avec Andrea et Andreas. Merci pour tout.


Franck

San Francisco
 

Farmhouse and Barn, July 2019/August 2019

We were about fifteen people, adults and children, who came together from several countries to celebrate a family event. Andrea and Andreas welcomed us with great generosity and special attention which we greatly appreciated. We felt at home and our stay was wonderful. We were able to enjoy with the children bike rides, walks, games in the pool and family dinners. The location is ideal for visiting the area and shopping if necessary without disturbing the calm and serenity that characterizes the place. Next time we will enjoy the painting workshop with Andrea more and hopefully we will be able to see the finished olive mill!
 

Raphaël

Haiti, Columbia, Bolivia, Canada, London

Barn, July 2019

 

“Herdade dos Alfanges is a truly unique place and staying there for almost two weeks was a very special experience. The beauty and tranquility of the farmhouse and its surroundings really had a lasting effect on us. We were travelling asa group of 11: two families with 7 children between us - and the house never felt crowded and offered all the space, privacy and comfort we could have asked for - it really felt like a 5-Star resort! Every amenity was available and Andrea went to extra lengths to make even the youngest member of our travel group (1 yr old) feel totally entertained and comfortable. Andrea and Andreas are wonderful hosts whose hospitality is absolutely outstanding and stems from a genuine interest in meeting people: from a very warm welcome to incredible attention to detail when it comes to make you feel at home during your stay - everything was catered for without ever feeling intrusive. The children (boys and girls between 1 and 12 yrs old) loved the amazing pool, playground and table tennis the most - but searching for eggs every morning, harvesting fruit and vegetables from Andrea´s garden and roaming through the farmgrounds was what probably created the most memorable experiences. Thank you so much, Andrea and Andreas, for a truly wonderful time at your beautiful home. We hope to come back very soon!”

Tina

Germany

Barn, July 2018

 

The best hosts ever! Truly! The accommodation is stunning and perfectly equipped. The location is ideal for visiting Unesco Heritage sites and inland Portugal. Lisbon is not far away, though. The landscape becomes even more magnificent and interesting when the owners tell you all about it. To top it all, as visiting artists, we could paint in- and outside the studio of Andrea. At night, the sky, full of stars, was a breathtaking.

Anne

Switzerland

BARN: May 2019

 

Wish I could have stayed much longer ......


The rooms, the pool, the hospitality, the property - pretty much everything is grand. It’s an amazing place to slow down and enjoy. Good food, wine and plenty vineyards in the area, art museums, cork trees, olive trees and a picturesque railway station (Vila Nova da Baronia - Lisbon); all there and more. Great place to stay for a small group and a superb venue for (wedding)celebrations.

Wanderer10869224323

BARN: May 2019

 

A peaceful and beautiful place in Portugal's backcountry

Amongst 1000 year old olive trees the owner have create a little paradise. There an many interesting places to visit in the neighborhood. A great place for a family to spend quality time and recharge your batteries!


Massimo F
Paris, France

BARN:  May 2019


Fabulous stay with super hosts in great surroundings

We organized a reunion of friends from all over the world at this fabulous estate. The rooms are luxurious with a personal touch and the interior places are full of high-end furniture and fabric - Andrea has great taste! Walking around the vast orchard with century old olive trees was amazing - my wife promptly "adopted" a tree ("Arturo"). This peaceful location is easy to get to from Lisbon, and close to many historic places as well as good local wineries. Relaxing on the porch overlooking the pool into the horizon with a nice glass of wine, this truly is an Oasis! Thanks Andreas and Andrea for a memorable stay, we will be back...
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

marcDuvel
Houston, Texas

Barn, April 2019

 

Simply wonderful

Large estate surrounded by spectacular nature, trees and sheep.

The house is wonderful, exquisitely decorated and equipped with all comforts. Details that make the difference in each corner, fresh flowers, freshly baked cake, chocolates...

The pool area and gardens are extraordinary. The owners Andrea and Andreas are lovely. We will definitely come back. A magical place

Miguel 

Spain

BARN: March 2019

A paradise on earth

In a paradisiac environment we discovered a wonderful region in portugal the Alentejo rich in nature and in culture It is a wonderful area with Unesco heritage monuments close by The hosts Andreas and Andrea are simply wonderful and we felt at home in a great place Olive trees cork trees, sheep, birds A paradise on hearth We enjoyed every minute of it.


anneliesroosen
Mechelen, Belgium

BARN: March 2019


Paradise
It's a wonderful place in a beautiful and quiet area, with lovely rooms and everything you need for a relaxing vacation. 10 points go to the hospitality of Andrea and Andreas! Hope to see you soon again!


Seaside65553068218

Belgium

BARN: March 2019

 

Perfect & breathtaking place to stay, exceptional hosts

Wonderfull house. Perfect for a big group (with children). Stunning pool. Beautifull area. You have great hosts and than you have Andrea & Andreas. They are friendly, hospitable and always there to help you out. This Herdade is a -no brainer- for a vacation in Alentejo. We'll visit again!


Seaside65553068218

Belguim

BARN: March 2019

 

Wonderfull stay

Thank you, Andrea and Andreas for your hospitality in the farm and barn! You welcomed our group like family. Both houses are beautiful and have an amazing view, fully equiped kitchen, BBQ, big rooms with bathroom and everything was so clean. We explored the region of Alentejo because there is so much to do and to see but we could easily have spend the entire week in the house. The swimming pool and the surroudings are wonderful! We hope we can come back soon to this little piece of paradise.

elkevnro

Belguim

Farmhouse and Barn, March 2019

 

Beautifull house and surroundings. Andrea and Andreas are very charming, with an extraordinary hospitality! Would go again definetely. I can recommend the place to everyone! It is well located with plenty of things to do in the neighbourhood, but also for those who love calm nature, it is perfect!

Niels

Belgium

Barn, Dezember 2018/January 2019

 

Fantastic place surrounded by nature with everything you need for a perfect vacation. Will be back for sure

João

Lisbon

Barn, October/November 2018

 

Andrea, Andreas,

 

Many thanks once again for making our holiday so wonderful.

 

The house is stunning, the amenities you provide are complete in every detail, the surrounding countryside is a joyful discovery and revelation, but the best, the very best of it all, is your kindliness and hospitality.

 

Whether it was a supply of fresh vegetables, help with the hot water, or a new can of gas, an extraordinary bonfire, a delicious dinner, or a visit to the lambs, (thank you Regina), a short stint at the olive trees, or an emergency rescue of a tired child who couldn't cycle any further... It seemed to me there was nothing you wouldn't do to make our stay perfect.

 

We in Ireland have a reputation of being hospitable - Céad míle fáilte - a hundred thousand welcomes is a national (and Tourist Board) motto. It, or similar, could well be yours.

 

 

All the very best for the future.

 

Garrett Keogh

Ireland

A true paradise on earth

Oct 2018
Andrea and Andreas are wonderful hosts who made us feel incredibly welcome and had thought of every little detail. Upon our arrival, we were greeted with cool drinks, there was a freshly baked fruit-tart on the kitchen table for us to eat and fresh flowers in every bedroom. The host's thoughtfulness is reflected in the amenities: everything is luxuriously comfortable and beautifully decorated, and no detail is overlooked. There were even lots of brightly coloured pool toys, badminton sets and a table tennis table in the shade for the children to play with as well as cool lemon-water that we could help ourselves to by the poolside. The location is simply stunning. Set in the midst of old olive and oak groves, there is a peacefulness that is truly palpable. Whereas we adults loved going for a walk amongst the ancient trees, the children enjoyed a trip out to milk the local goats - a holiday highlight for them! And yet, cultural sights are not far away. We had a lovely day in nearby Evora, only an easy 30 min drive away, with lunch in a great restaurant recommended by our hosts. We can not recommend this place highly enough, and we certainly want to come back!

Charly

Dublin

Barn, October 2018

 

Andrea and Andreas are wonderful hosts who made us feel incredibly welcome and had thought of every little detail. Upon our arrival, we were greeted with cool drinks, there was a freshly baked fruit-tart on the kitchen table for us to eat and fresh flowers in every bedroom. 
The host's thoughtfulness is reflected in the amenities: everything is luxuriously comfortable and beautifully decorated, and no detail is overlooked. There were even lots of brightly coloured pool toys, badminton sets and a table tennis table in the shade for the children to play with as well as cool lemon-water that we could help ourselves to by the poolside.
The location is simply stunning. Set in the midst of old olive and oak groves, there is a peacefulness that is truly palpable. Whereas we adults loved going for a walk amongst the ancient trees, the children enjoyed a trip out to milk the local goats - a holiday highlight for them!
And yet, cultural sights are not far away. We had a lovely day in nearby Evora, only an easy 30 min drive away, with lunch in a great restaurant recommended by our hosts.

Andrea and Andreas served us delicious meals on their beautiful terrace - our entire family enjoyed the excellent food, and the children loved the pancakes for breakfast.

We can not recommend this place highly enough, and we certainly want to come back! 

Corinne 

Switzerland

September 2018

Serenity and beauty in the heart of Alentejo

 

Andreas and Andrea are amazing hosts who make everyone feel welcome in their home. Their familiarity with the region enables them to give useful guidance in planning excursions and events. The farmhouse and barn are so beautifully decorated and comfortably appointed. We visited there at the end of our Portugal trip after visiting Porto and Lisbon and felt so fortunate to be able to relax and unwind in their garden and pool, as well as share delicious meals with other international visitors. Their guesthouses, pool, garden and barn are amazing venues for group gatherings such as weddings, family reunions, or retreats.

jolibrau4

Richmond, Virginia USA

Barn, August 2018

 

Una finca preciosa, en un sitio muy especial. Ideal para unas vacaciones tranquilas. Con unos anfitriones encantadores, muy atentos y hospitalarios.

A beautiful estate, in a very special place. Ideal for a quiet holiday. With charming hosts, very attentive and hospitable.

Fernando

Madrid

Barn, August 2018

"Peace in the Portuguese countryside"

Herdade dos Alfanges really exceeded our expectations. We had seen the pictures but we were not quite prepared for how wonderful the place is when you are actually there. The barn accommodation is spacious and extremely comfortable. With the double height of the main living space and the amazing floor to ceiling window doors it feels almost palatial. The bedrooms and bathrooms are lovely to the point of luxurious, the kitchen is well equipped and gives onto the fantastic wrap-around terrace, with space for a large table for everyone to eat at, as well as comfy areas to sit, either to lap up the morning sun or to catch the afternoon rays. The pool area is wonderful - the pool itself is such a great size and the decking, loungers and hammocks allow plenty of space for everyone to find their own sun or shade. There is also a fridge stocked with drinks, snacks and ice creams - you just keep a tally and pay at the end. We loved looking out on to the farm, the sheep and the surrounding countryside with its olive trees. The farm is nicely off the beaten track but very close to local villages and towns where you can get great traditional Portuguese food. And then you can also do great day trips to places like Evora, Monsaraz and the Alqueva lake where there are different water activities and a new man-made beach for fresh-water swimming. The greatest thing though is the hospitality of the hosts Andrea and Andreas who are making a very special place here. The care they took to welcome us and to make our stay not only extremely comfortable but really memorable was wonderful. From the personalised pool towels, to the fruit and vegetables from their garden they add perfect touches to make you feel special. And above all they are great company - we had many drinks and many fascinating conversations. We very much hope to come again and bring more friends who would appreciate such a fantastic place to stay.


Dan   


London

BARN and FARM, August 2018

 

Think of your summer vacations you've expected all year long. Many expectations.

Multiply these expectations by 10, and this is pretty much what you will experience at Andreas & Andrea stunning domain.

The region: Alentejo is a pure beauty, and reminded all of us to South Africa. Olive and cork trees, small typical portuguese villages and wineyards will be your playground. Lisbon is in direct access with a typical countryside train in 1 hour and a half.

The house: simply stunning. Andrea has a taste for everything, and it's at least as beautifully furnished than a 5-stars experience. All bedrooms have their own bathrooms, beds are giants, AC everywhere...

The king size swimming pool makes you feel either in Marrakech's medina or Palm Springs depending on the hours...

Our hosts: Well, how could I say this simply ? For the past 6 years we yearly rent our summer house on AirBnB, Andreas & Andrea's experience has been by very far the best one. Their kindness, small attentions, simplicity to make us feel at home is simply incredible. I will not reveal here all the small details they invent to make your stay special, but it's definitely a must-try.

The way the domain is organised is actually perfect: big enough to have your own privacy in your giant home, but they are close enough to help you in anything you need, for your group of friends or for your family's children.

If my friends and I just come back to Paris ready to face the coming winter, it's for sure thanks to the fantastic stay we've experienced there.

Andrea, Andreas, thanks for everything !   

 

Xavier  

 

Paris

BARN July 2018


We, a family of 6, just got back home to Berlin from a wonderful and peaceful week at Andrea and Andreas´s place in Alentejo!

They really know how to make you feel welcome and home!

When we arrived there was a cake, fresh vegetables from the garden, vine of the region waiting us in the kitchen and Andrea and Andreas invited us for a great BBQ to get to know each other.  They are perfect hosts and very generous. We could ask any time for anything we needed or wanted to know.  They were always very helpful. We were allowed to pick vegetables and herbs from their garden to cook with, they helped us find the “hidden” supermarkets in the small village and gave us nice ideas what to do close by. 

The house and the kitchen are perfectly equipped. Since the drinking water is from their own ground it is without the chlorine and tastes great! The bedrooms all have an own beautiful bathroom.  All rooms were extremely tidy and cozy. 

There is a great terrace around the house with a huge table and many different places to sit or lay down on a lounger and watch the country side and the sheep which makes you feel very rested and peaceful. 

It was wonderful to do yoga in the morning on the terrace and watch the sheep rest under a tree.

There is so much space that you can really be on your own if you need even though you are staying with a big family with different needs.

There is a table soccer and you can also take tennis or badminton rackets to go to town to play on a field. The playground has a beautiful treehouse and (what our grown up children liked the best) a trampoline. They also really enjoyed the pingpong table.

The pool is amazing! You feel like you are in paradise. You hear the wind, water and the birds sing, the water is without the chlorine and very smooth. 

Andreas took us for a ride to see the temple on the hill and the beautiful oak- and olive trees. Very amazing and fun. The little farmhouse is also nicely renovated with a beautiful little garden and terrace. And you can also use Andrea´s atelier if you feel like crafting or drawing. So many possibilities to enjoy life!

I think the place is not only wonderful for a family vacation. It must be great for retreats  like yoga or workshops of any kind. You can find perfectly rest and peace if you need a time out!

We highly recommend this place.

Thanks so much to Andrea and Andreas

Family Becker

 

Berlin

Farmhouse, June 4, 2018

 

This place is just AMAZING.....

I had an amazing 4 days with Andrea and Andreas. They have a wonderful relaxing farm where you can fully detach from the outside world and recharge. They are naturally very hospitable people and the photos of the property accurately reflect the reality. 

I will definitely be back...

 

DaveB

 

Switzerland

Farmhouse, March 2018

 

Andrea and Andreas’ beautiful oasis in the heart of Alentejo was absolutely splendid! We could not have asked for a more lovely, comfortable, and tranquil stay. The nature was stunning, every amenity was readily available, and the hosts were wonderful! They truly welcomed us (quickly making us feel at home) and were so helpful setting up any activities we were interested in. Evora is very charming and there are some great vineyards in the area! That being said, their villa is so peaceful that all you may want to do is lounge by the dreamlike pool. But do make sure to take a tour of the property. It was fascinating learning more about the farm’s operations from the olive trees to the many adorable sheep! The fact that this special villa is so easily accessible by train from Lisbon really makes it an ideal place to stay. Long review short, I could not recommend Herdade dos Alfanges enough!!

 

Elise

 

USA 

Farm and Barn, March 11, 2018 

A truly special place in the Alentejo

This beautiful location in the Alentejo has a very special place in our hearts. Having been enchanted by its open fields, charming house, and star studded night sky when we visited in Dec 2016, my husband and I decided to get married there in the fall of 2017. 

Andrea and Andreas are great hosts. Their excitement, help and support during the wedding made everything possible. The house itself is fully equipped with every possible comfort and amenity. It’s set by wide olive groves and fields, has a beautiful patio by the garden where we had breakfasts and dinners, each bedroom has a en-suite bathroom. It comfortably accommodated our families who stayed there and the 65+ guests attending the wedding party. 

We cannot wait to return and would highly recommend it for either a family reunion, party, or just a quiet getaway.

DMBernal

Hong Kong, China

Farmhouse, December 15, 2017

Beautiful getaway among the olive trees

An amazing, calm and picturesque location, beautifully modern take on the old Portuguese farm house. We especially enjoyed the walks through the olive trees followed by refreshing dips in the pool! Would recommend to anyone and will be sure to return!

Leo_Harriss

Paris, France

December 15, 2017

Stunning getaway for a restful holiday

Andrea and Andreas were fantastic hosts, always making sure we had what we needed and also giving us the necessary information to explore the area. The Alentejo region is stunning, and this beautiful farm is situated right at the heart of it, surrounded by fields of olive groves. We really felt at home. Andrea also cooks delicious food, fresh vegetables from her garden and meat from the market. The couple was extremely hospitable and great company.
Also seems like the perfect place to host a group retreat. I will definitely be coming back!

mang0tree2017

Geneva, Switzerland 

  • Trip

© 2018 by Herdade dos Alfanges                                      alfanges@yahoo.com