REVIEWS

YOUR REVIEW IS IMPORTANT TO US

December 15, 2017

Stunning getaway for a restful holiday

Andrea and Andreas were fantastic hosts, always making sure we had what we needed and also giving us the necessary information to explore the area. The Alentejo region is stunning, and this beautiful farm is situated right at the heart of it, surrounded by fields of olive groves. We really felt at home. Andrea also cooks delicious food, fresh vegetables from her garden and meat from the market. The couple was extremely hospitable and great company.
Also seems like the perfect place to host a group retreat. I will definitely be coming back!

mang0tree2017

Geneva, Switzerland 

December 15, 2017

Stunning getaway for a restful holiday

Andrea and Andreas were fantastic hosts, always making sure we had what we needed and also giving us the necessary information to explore the area. The Alentejo region is stunning, and this beautiful farm is situated right at the heart of it, surrounded by fields of olive groves. We really felt at home. Andrea also cooks delicious food, fresh vegetables from her garden and meat from the market. The couple was extremely hospitable and great company.
Also seems like the perfect place to host a group retreat. I will definitely be coming back!

mang0tree2017

Geneva, Switzerland 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

December 15, 2017

Beautiful getaway among the olive trees

An amazing, calm and picturesque location, beautifully modern take on the old Portuguese farm house. We especially enjoyed the walks through the olive trees followed by refreshing dips in the pool! Would recommend to anyone and will be sure to return!

Leo_Harriss

Paris, France

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

March 11, 2018 

A truly special place in the Alentejo

This beautiful location in the Alentejo has a very special place in our hearts. Having been enchanted by its open fields, charming house, and star studded night sky when we visited in Dec 2016, my husband and I decided to get married there in the fall of 2017. 

Andrea and Andreas are great hosts. Their excitement, help and support during the wedding made everything possible. The house itself is fully equipped with every possible comfort and amenity. It’s set by wide olive groves and fields, has a beautiful patio by the garden where we had breakfasts and dinners, each bedroom has a en-suite bathroom. It comfortably accommodated our families who stayed there and the 65+ guests attending the wedding party. 

We cannot wait to return and would highly recommend it for either a family reunion, party, or just a quiet getaway.

DMBernal

Hong Kong, China

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

June 4, 2018

This place is just AMAZING.....

I had an amazing 4 days with Andrea and Andreas. They have a wonderful relaxing farm where you can fully detach from the outside world and recharge. They are naturally very hospitable people and the photos of the property accurately reflect the reality. 

I will definitely be back...

DaveB

Switzerland

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Andrea and Andreas’ beautiful oasis in the heart of Alentejo was absolutely splendid! We could not have asked for a more lovely, comfortable, and tranquil stay. The nature was stunning, every amenity was readily available, and the hosts were wonderful! They truly welcomed us (quickly making us feel at home) and were so helpful setting up any activities we were interested in. Evora is very charming and there are some great vineyards in the area! That being said, their villa is so peaceful that all you may want to do is lounge by the dreamlike pool. But do make sure to take a tour of the property. It was fascinating learning more about the farm’s operations from the olive trees to the many adorable sheep! The fact that this special villa is so easily accessible by train from Lisbon really makes it an ideal place to stay. Long review short, I could not recommend Herdade dos Alfanges enough!!

Elisa  March 2018

USA 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

July 2018

 

We, a family of 6, just got back home to Berlin from a wonderful and peaceful week at Andrea and Andreas´s place in Alentejo!

They really know how to make you feel welcome and home!

When we arrived there was a cake, fresh vegetables from the garden, vine of the region waiting us in the kitchen and Andrea and Andreas invited us for a great BBQ to get to know each other.  They are perfect hosts and very generous. We could ask any time for anything we needed or wanted to know.  They were always very helpful. We were allowed to pick vegetables and herbs from their garden to cook with, they helped us find the “hidden” supermarkets in the small village and gave us nice ideas what to do close by. 

The house and the kitchen are perfectly equipped. Since the drinking water is from their own ground it is without the chlorine and tastes great! The bedrooms all have an own beautiful bathroom.  All rooms were extremely tidy and cozy. 

There is a great terrace around the house with a huge table and many different places to sit or lay down on a lounger and watch the country side and the sheep which makes you feel very rested and peaceful. 

It was wonderful to do yoga in the morning on the terrace and watch the sheep rest under a tree.

There is so much space that you can really be on your own if you need even though you are staying with a big family with different needs.

There is a table soccer and you can also take tennis or badminton rackets to go to town to play on a field. The playground has a beautiful treehouse and (what our grown up children liked the best) a trampoline. They also really enjoyed the pingpong table.

The pool is amazing! You feel like you are in paradise. You hear the wind, water and the birds sing, the water is without the chlorine and very smooth. 

Andreas took us for a ride to see the temple on the hill and the beautiful oak- and olive trees. Very amazing and fun. The little farmhouse is also nicely renovated with a beautiful little garden and terrace. And you can also use Andrea´s atelier if you feel like crafting or drawing. So many possibilities to enjoy life!

I think the place is not only wonderful for a family vacation. It must be great for retreats  like yoga or workshops of any kind. You can find perfectly rest and peace if you need a time out!

We highly recommend this place.

Thanks so much to Andrea and Andreas

Family Becker

 

Berlin

August 2018

 

Think of your summer vacations you've expected all year long. Many expectations.

Multiply these expectations by 10, and this is pretty much what you will experience at Andreas & Andrea stunning domain.

The region: Alentejo is a pure beauty, and reminded all of us to South Africa. Olive and cork trees, small typical portuguese villages and wineyards will be your playground. Lisbon is in direct access with a typical countryside train in 1 hour and a half.

The house: simply stunning. Andrea has a taste for everything, and it's at least as beautifully furnished than a 5-stars experience. All bedrooms have their own bathrooms, beds are giants, AC everywhere...

The king size swimming pool makes you feel either in Marrakech's medina or Palm Springs depending on the hours...

Our hosts: Well, how could I say this simply ? For the past 6 years we yearly rent our summer house on AirBnB, Andreas & Andrea's experience has been by very far the best one. Their kindness, small attentions, simplicity to make us feel at home is simply incredible. I will not reveal here all the small details they invent to make your stay special, but it's definitely a must-try.

The way the domain is organised is actually perfect: big enough to have your own privacy in your giant home, but they are close enough to help you in anything you need, for your group of friends or for your family's children.

If my friends and I just come back to Paris ready to face the coming winter, it's for sure thanks to the fantastic stay we've experienced there.

Andrea, Andreas, thanks for everything !   

 

Xavier  

 

Paris

August 2018

 

"Peace in the Portuguese countryside"

Herdade dos Alfanges really exceeded our expectations. We had seen the pictures but we were not quite prepared for how wonderful the place is when you are actually there. The barn accommodation is spacious and extremely comfortable. With the double height of the main living space and the amazing floor to ceiling window doors it feels almost palatial. The bedrooms and bathrooms are lovely to the point of luxurious, the kitchen is well equipped and gives onto the fantastic wrap-around terrace, with space for a large table for everyone to eat at, as well as comfy areas to sit, either to lap up the morning sun or to catch the afternoon rays. The pool area is wonderful - the pool itself is such a great size and the decking, loungers and hammocks allow plenty of space for everyone to find their own sun or shade. There is also a fridge stocked with drinks, snacks and ice creams - you just keep a tally and pay at the end. We loved looking out on to the farm, the sheep and the surrounding countryside with its olive trees. The farm is nicely off the beaten track but very close to local villages and towns where you can get great traditional Portuguese food. And then you can also do great day trips to places like Evora, Monsaraz and the Alqueva lake where there are different water activities and a new man-made beach for fresh-water swimming. The greatest thing though is the hospitality of the hosts Andrea and Andreas who are making a very special place here. The care they took to welcome us and to make our stay not only extremely comfortable but really memorable was wonderful. From the personalised pool towels, to the fruit and vegetables from their garden they add perfect touches to make you feel special. And above all they are great company - we had many drinks and many fascinating conversations. We very much hope to come again and bring more friends who would appreciate such a fantastic place to stay.

 

Dan   

 

London

 

August 2018

 

Una finca preciosa, en un sitio muy especial. Ideal para unas vacaciones tranquilas. Con unos anfitriones encantadores, muy atentos y hospitalarios.

A beautiful estate, in a very special place. Ideal for a quiet holiday. With charming hosts, very attentive and hospitable.

Fernando

Madrid

September 2018

Serenity and beauty in the heart of Alentejo

 

Andreas and Andrea are amazing hosts who make everyone feel welcome in their home. Their familiarity with the region enables them to give useful guidance in planning excursions and events. The farmhouse and barn are so beautifully decorated and comfortably appointed. We visited there at the end of our Portugal trip after visiting Porto and Lisbon and felt so fortunate to be able to relax and unwind in their garden and pool, as well as share delicious meals with other international visitors. Their guesthouses, pool, garden and barn are amazing venues for group gatherings such as weddings, family reunions, or retreats.

jolibrau4

Richmond, Virginia USA

October 2018

 

Andrea and Andreas are wonderful hosts who made us feel incredibly welcome and had thought of every little detail. Upon our arrival, we were greeted with cool drinks, there was a freshly baked fruit-tart on the kitchen table for us to eat and fresh flowers in every bedroom. 
The host's thoughtfulness is reflected in the amenities: everything is luxuriously comfortable and beautifully decorated, and no detail is overlooked. There were even lots of brightly coloured pool toys, badminton sets and a table tennis table in the shade for the children to play with as well as cool lemon-water that we could help ourselves to by the poolside.
The location is simply stunning. Set in the midst of old olive and oak groves, there is a peacefulness that is truly palpable. Whereas we adults loved going for a walk amongst the ancient trees, the children enjoyed a trip out to milk the local goats - a holiday highlight for them!
And yet, cultural sights are not far away. We had a lovely day in nearby Evora, only an easy 30 min drive away, with lunch in a great restaurant recommended by our hosts.

Andrea and Andreas served us delicious meals on their beautiful terrace - our entire family enjoyed the excellent food, and the children loved the pancakes for breakfast.

We can not recommend this place highly enough, and we certainly want to come back! 

Corinne 

Switzerland

October/November 2018

 

Andrea, Andreas,

 

Many thanks once again for making our holiday so wonderful.

 

The house is stunning, the amenities you provide are complete in every detail, the surrounding countryside is a joyful discovery and revelation, but the best, the very best of it all, is your kindliness and hospitality.

 

Whether it was a supply of fresh vegetables, help with the hot water, or a new can of gas, an extraordinary bonfire, a delicious dinner, or a visit to the lambs, (thank you Regina), a short stint at the olive trees, or an emergency rescue of a tired child who couldn't cycle any further... It seemed to me there was nothing you wouldn't do to make our stay perfect.

 

We in Ireland have a reputation of being hospitable - Céad míle fáilte - a hundred thousand welcomes is a national (and Tourist Board) motto. It, or similar, could well be yours.

 

 

All the very best for the future.

 

Garrett Keogh

Ireland

Dezember 2018/January 2019

 

Fantastic place surrounded by nature with everything you need for a perfect vacation. Will be back for sure

João

Lisbon

March 2019

 

Beautifull house and surroundings. Andrea and Andreas are very charming, with an extraordinary hospitality! Would go again definetely. I can recommend the place to everyone! It is well located with plenty of things to do in the neighbourhood, but also for those who love calm nature, it is perfect!

Niels

Belgium

April 2019

 

Simply wonderful

Large estate surrounded by spectacular nature, trees and sheep.

The house is wonderful, exquisitely decorated and equipped with all comforts. Details that make the difference in each corner, fresh flowers, freshly baked cake, chocolates...

The pool area and gardens are extraordinary. The owners Andrea and Andreas are lovely. We will definitely come back. A magical place

Miguel 

Spain

July 2018

 

The best hosts ever! Truly! The accommodation is stunning and perfectly equipped. The location is ideal for visiting Unesco Heritage sites and inland Portugal. Lisbon is not far away, though. The landscape becomes even more magnificent and interesting when the owners tell you all about it. To top it all, as visiting artists, we could paint in- and outside the studio of Andrea. At night, the sky, full of stars, was a breathtaking.

Anne

Switzerland

July 2019

 

“Herdade dos Alfanges is a truly unique place and staying there for almost two weeks was a very special experience. The beauty and tranquility of the farmhouse and its surroundings really had a lasting effect on us. We were travelling asa group of 11: two families with 7 children between us - and the house never felt crowded and offered all the space, privacy and comfort we could have asked for - it really felt like a 5-Star resort! Every amenity was available and Andrea went to extra lengths to make even the youngest member of our travel group (1 yr old) feel totally entertained and comfortable. Andrea and Andreas are wonderful hosts whose hospitality is absolutely outstanding and stems from a genuine interest in meeting people: from a very warm welcome to incredible attention to detail when it comes to make you feel at home during your stay - everything was catered for without ever feeling intrusive. The children (boys and girls between 1 and 12 yrs old) loved the amazing pool, playground and table tennis the most - but searching for eggs every morning, harvesting fruit and vegetables from Andrea´s garden and roaming through the farmgrounds was what probably created the most memorable experiences. Thank you so much, Andrea and Andreas, for a truly wonderful time at your beautiful home. We hope to come back very soon!”

Tina

Germany

July 2019/August 2019

 

Nous étions une quinzaine de personnes, adultes et enfants, qui se sont réunis de plusieurs pays pour célébrer un événement familial. Andrea et Andreas nous ont accueilli avec une grande générosité et une attention particulière que nous avons fortement apprécié. Nous nous sommes sentis comme chez nous et notre séjour s'est passé à merveille. Nous avons pu profiter avec les enfants des ballades à vélo et à pied, des jeux dans la piscine et des soupers en famille. L'emplacement est idéal pour visiter la région et faire des courses si nécessaire sans que ça ne perturbe le calme et la sérénité qui caractérise l'endroit. La prochaine fois nous profiterons davantage de l'atelier de peinture avec Andrea en espérant pouvant voir le moulin d’olives terminé !

Raphaël

Haiti, Columbia, Bolivia, Canada, London

August 2019

 

There are not many words to describe this little piece of paradise that Andrea and Andreas share with us. Everything is perfect, beautiful, calm, serene. The house has been designed with excellent taste, and you feel at home as soon as you enter it. The kitchen is a family kitchen where everything is at your disposal to cook as if you were at home. Nothing is missing. The rooms are beautiful, and you can sleep in them wonderfully well. The view from the living room or bedrooms is magnificent. Oaks, olive trees as far as the eye can see and of course the hundreds of sheep that graze. You will have the chance some evenings to see the shepherd and his border collars bring the herd back to the sound of the ship bells. The swimming pool is magnificent, and you can admire the sunsets or rest in the hammocks or deckchairs at your disposal. Andrea also provides you with swimming pool towels with small customisation that has charmed us a lot. But all this would be nothing without the kindness and thoughtful but daily attention of Andreas and Andrea. We have the impression of being with our family, and we feel how much they like to share and welcome. They are there to make your stay the best in the world. Always at your disposal to advise us on places to visit, restaurants, to book, to order some pizzas, to buy excellent local wines. And I don't mention all the exceptional moments we were able to spend together, not to mention Francesca and Sandra, two Italian and German interns with whom we were also able to make friends. Finally, our last ten-year-old son was able to evolve freely and get the fresh eggs from the henhouse in the morning, as well as the vegetables from the garden to allow us to prepare beautiful fresh and 100% organic salads! We had the chance to meet Andrea and Andreas because it's a chance, believe it! We hope to come back one day for the Alentejo, the quietude of the house and the landscapes and especially to be able to spend some beautiful moments with Andrea and Andreas again. Thank you for everything.

Il n'y a pas beaucoup de mots pour décrire ce petit coin de paradis que Andrea et Andreas partagent avec nous. Tout est parfait, beau, calme, serein. La maison a été conçue avec beaucoup de gout et on se sent chez soit des que l'on y rentre. La cuisine est une cuisine familiale où tout est à disposition pour cuisiner comme à la maison. Il ne manque rien. Les chambres sont magnifiques et l'on y dort merveilleusement bien. La vue du salon ou des chambres est grandiose. Des chênes, des oliviers à perte de vue et bien entendu les centaines de moutons qui pâturent. Vous aurez la chance certains soirs de voir le berger et ses border collies ramener le troupeau au son des clarines. La piscine est grandiose et vous pourrez y admirer les couchers de soleil ou bien vous reposer dans les hamacs ou les chaises longues mises à votre disposition. Andrea vous met également des serviettes de piscines à disposition avec une petite personnalisation qui nous a beaucoup charmés. Mais tout ceci ne serait rien sans la gentillesse et les attentions discrètes mais quotidiennes de Andreas et Andrea. Nous avons l'impression d'être en famille et l'on sent combien ils aiment partager et accueillir. Ils sont présents pour que votre séjour se passe le mieux du monde. Toujours à disposition pour nous conseiller des endroits à visiter, des restaurants, pour reserver, pour commander quelques pizzas, pour acheter de bons vins locaux. Et je ne mentionne pas tous les moments très privilégiés que nous avons pu passer ensemble sans oublier Francesca et Sandra, deux stagiaires italienne et allemande avec qui nous avons pu également sympathiser. Enfin, notre petit dernier de 10 ans a pu évoluer librement et aller chercher les oeufs frais dans le poulailler le matin, ainsi que les légumes du jardin pour nous permettre de préparer de belles salades bien fraiches et 100% bio! Nous avons eu la chance de rencontrer Andrea et Andreas, car c'est une chance croyez le! Nous espérons revenir un jour pour retrouver l'Alentejo, la quiétude de la maison et des paysages et surtout pouvoir passer, de nouveau, de beaux moments avec Andrea et Andreas. Merci pour tout.

Franck

San Francisco

August 2019

 

Wat een prachtige plek, in het hart van Portugal 20 minuten onder de historische stad Evora. We hadden natuurlijk verwachtingen gezien we hadden geboekt via de website, maar de verwachtingen werden ver overtroffen. Na een beetje zoeken hadden we de afslag gevonden. We kwamen op een landweg die ons leide door het prachtige Portugese Landschap, We kwamen aan werden verwelkomd door de eigenaren Andrea en Andreas, we voelde ons direct welkom. Zij brachten ons naar ons verblijf " the Barn " Wauw! Wat prachtig. Na dat we ons hadden opgefrist kregen we een rond leiding over het landgoed. Heerlijk zoutwaterbad met veel ruimte om te zonnen. Avonds werden we uitgenodigd voor de barbecue, wat een top avond, en wat een gewéldige en aardige gastheer en vrouw Andreas en Andrea, Super! Als je praat van een aanradertje dat is dit er absoluut één.

Henk

Nederlands

  • Trip

© 2018 by Herdade dos Alfanges                                      alfanges@yahoo.com